Our Team


Janneke Strause -
Executive Director

Janneke is the Director of Bike Santa Cruz County, previously holding the Events & Membership Coordinator position. While the Events & Membership Coordinator, she successfully managed the transition of organizers and produced Run by the Sea and Open Streets Santa Cruz. She attended UC Santa Cruz and played Division III intercollegiate soccer. She received a degree in Politics with a minor in Philosophy. Janneke has experience in community organizing and the nonprofit sector as the founder of The Inspiring Enterprise, an accelerator for social ventures. She grew up visiting family in the Netherlands and dreams of, one day, having a network of bike highways across the United States.

IMG_0226 2.JPG

Tawn Kennedy -
Youth Programs director

Tawn directs youth programs for Bike Santa Cruz County. He attended Santa Cruz High and UCSC, where he received a BA in Community Studies. After graduating, Tawn coordinated school gardens, ran a teens-as-teachers environmental education program, and trained UCSC undergraduates to teach sustainability-focused seminars. In 2010, he joined the team at Bike Santa Cruz County. In his free time he makes art, writes poetry, and hangs out with redwoods.


Eric Guerrieri -
Events and Membership coordinator

Eric joined the Bike Santa Cruz County team as the Events & Membership Coordinator in early 2018, following a position managing the volunteer program at Ecology Action. Born and raised in Kansas City, Eric moved to the Bay Area following high school and eventually settled in Santa Cruz to attend UCSC, where he received a degree in Politics with a focus on environmental policy. Although he has been an avid cyclist from a young age, it was during his time at UCSC that he developed a full-blown passion for both mountain and urban biking, bike advocacy and sustainable transportation issues. In his free time he can be found playing guitar, reading science fiction, running a Netflix marathon or riding singletrack on his trusty Santa Cruz Superlight.

Board of Directors

Catherine Jenkins

The following is placeholder text. Vivamus a ante congue, porta nunc nec, hendrerit turpis.

Catherine Simmons

The following is placeholder text. Class aptent taciti sociosqu ad litora torquent per conubia nostra, per inceptos himenaeos.

John Bastien

The following is placeholder text. Nulla lectus ante, consequat et ex eget, feugiat tincidunt metus.